Day 25: Favorite RPG No One Else Wants to Play

DAY TWENTY-FIVE: FAVORITE RPG NO ONE ELSE WANTS TO PLAY

I’ll go a bit odd here because, thankfully, today’s topic is a mite vague.  My live group has played this RPG extensively but may never play it again.  Typically it is reviled about the net and in game conversations worldwide, and I never really understood the vitriol.  It may not be my favorite game of all time but I do really like it.  Ok… I’ll stop teasing. The game I’m referencing is 4th Edition Dungeons and Dragons.

https://i1.wp.com/angaming.ca/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/dnd.jpg

I just erased a large collection of text that could have been titled “Why I think all the Haters are Wrong About 4e” and I’m more than willing to hold a lengthy conversation with someone if they wanted to hear me rant about it, but that’s not what today is about.  Instead I’m going to tell you about my concern that I may never get to play this fun little game again, and why that makes me sad.

https://i1.wp.com/www.g33kwatch.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/wpid-RevenantScout.jpg

I LIKED all those cards and stuff, I made my own of course, but I liked em’!

I’ve always maintained that the rule system and concept behind 4th edition only made one mistake when it rolled out, and that’s being attached to the Dungeons and Dragons name.  Had an independent company introduced us to this style of game we would have been floored by how innovative it’s style really was.  I’ve never played an RPG with more balance infused into its core and the combat system handles as well as any tactical tabletop skirmishes game.  So while 4th isn’t my favorite version of Dungeons and Dragons (5th edition fits that mold now) it was a refreshing change from 3.5 that contained all the same lengthy battles and none of the balance.

https://melsmifgames.files.wordpress.com/2014/08/98d41-bugbeartable.png

I’ve made mention of my love for the Monster Builder, only truly GREAT thing from the Digital Tools. Encounter building & customization was easy due to balance again.

My concern though seems similar to that annoying “First World Problems” meme, 5th edition D&D is so good even the people I played with who liked 4th likely won’t ever want to play it again!.  I mean, it fell apart at Paragon level and above, the mystery surrounding magic weapons was diluted extensively, and the wizard class just felt odd, but I ran some of my best games through 4th edition D&D and had some of the best Roleplay my table has ever seen.  It holds a special place in my heart, and I’m afraid it may just fade out of style.  Maybe I can play it at a Con or something.

 

OH! Lastly, some of the best written Eberron guides & supplements ever made were done within the 4th Edition era, and I love me some Eberron!

https://i1.wp.com/img4.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20100703201719/eberron/images/2/24/4E_Eberron_Campaign_Guide.jpg

-Melvs

One thought on “Day 25: Favorite RPG No One Else Wants to Play

  1. Your point about 4e being released on its own is a good one. There was innovations there and it was fun when I didn’t think of it as the D&D I myself am used to running. I also felt from the start it would’ve made a great minis game. In fact, the preceding skirmish game that came with their PPP Minis was quite similar until 4e got rolling then the skirmish game was discontinued. Wonder why!

    Like

Leave a Reply

